Dilapidations

In almost all Commercial Tenancies there are obligations concerning the form and condition of the premises.  Failure to comply with such obligations will give rise to a claim for dilapidations.

Dilapidations are based upon the Law of Contract. A lease essentially creates a contractual relationship between the two parties and a Schedule of Dilapidations is an allegation of breach of contract, which could result in litigation.  A Schedule of Dilapidations is a record of the disrepair which exists at the premises.

Hodgson Elkington has a complete understanding of the dilapidations process; our Surveyors understand the complex legal issues, they have the construction knowledge required and in addition they are able to provide accurate valuation advice in relation to the level of the claim. Negotiation of the dilapidations is a key skill for a successful settlement of a claim.

The dilapidations procedure is set out under the Civil Procedure Rules 1998 and the Property Litigation Association’s Pre-Action Protocol for Claims for Damages in relation to the physical state of the commercial property at the end of the lease. 

There is now a strong framework for effective resolution of disputes in dilapidations. 

Hodgson Elkington offers a full dilapidations service and our Surveyors have developed a complete understanding of the principles and processes of dilapidations claims.

To find out how we can help with your dilapidations requirements, please contact Tim Shaw on 01522 698989.

More information

For more information about our Diplapidations services please contact:

Tim Shaw

Tel:
01522 698989

Email:
tim.shaw@hodelk.co.uk

or

Arthur Hartshorne

Tel:
01522 698888

Email:
arthur.hartshorne@hodelk.co.uk

or

Tim Murgatroyd

Tel:
01522 698989

Email:
tim.murgatroyd@hodelk.co.uk

Contact details

Follow Us on Twitter (@hodelk)

Postal Address

Hodgson Elkington LLP
1 Oakwood Road,
Doddington Road,
Lincoln, LN6 3LH,
Lincolnshire,
United Kingdom

Commercial Agency

Telephone:
01522 698888
Email:
commercial@hodelk.co.uk

Commercial Property Management

Telephone:
01522 698989
Email:
management@hodelk.co.uk

Block Management

Telephone:
01522 814662
Email:
blockman@hodelk.co.uk

Accounts

Telephone:
01522 814699
Email:
accounts@hodelk.co.uk

Site Map